16th Finance Commission Constituted UPSC

16th Finance Commission Chairman and members

16th FC Mandate report submission

16th Finance Commission Constituted:


Sixteenth Finance Commission has been constituted:

Chairman - Dr Arvind Panagariya, former Vice-Chairman, NITI Aayog and Professor, Columbia University,


Full Time  - Shri. Ajay Narayan Jha -a member of 15th Finance Commission and former Secretary, Expenditure

Full Time  - Smt. Annie George Mathew, former Special Secretary, Expenditure

Full Time  - Dr. Niranjan Rajadhyaksha, Executive Director, Artha Global

Part Time  - Dr. Soumya Kanti Ghosh, Group Chief Economic Advisor, State Bank of India

Joint Secretary in the finance ministry Ritvik Ranjanam Pandey will be the secretary to the commission.

Sixteenth Finance Commission has been requested to submit report by 31st October, 2025.

16th Finance Commission - Terms of reference

16th Finance Commission Constituted:

The commission will submit its report, which will be applicable for the five-year period (2026-27 to 2030-31) to the President by October 31, 2025.

The Terms of Reference (ToR) of the 16th Finance Commission.

Besides suggesting tax devolution between the Centre and states and revenue augmentation measures, the commission would review the present arrangements for financing disaster management initiatives with reference to the funds constituted under the Disaster Management Act, 2005.

Top of page