linguistic states formation circumstances timeline

linguistic states & UT's

linguistic states formation timeline

Linguistic vs non linguistic states –

At the time of independence, the grouping of states was done on the basis of political and historical events.

  • However, in 1956 based on the Fazal Ali commission recommendation,
  • The State Reorganisation Act was passed in 1956 which resulted in the creation of 14 states and 6 union territories.


  1. Andhra Pradesh(1956–2014): formed by the merger of Andhra State with the Telugu-speaking areas of Hyderabad State.
  2. Assam: No change of boundary in 1956.
  3. Bihar: reduced slightly by the transfer of minor territories to West Bengal(Purulia from Manbhum district, Islampur from Purnea district).
  4. Bombay State: the state was enlarged by the addition of Saurashtra Stateand Kutch State, the Marathi-speaking districts of Berar Division and Nagpur Division of Central Province and Berar and Aurangabad Division of Hyderabad State. The southernmost districts of the Bombay Presidency were transferred to Mysore State.
  5. Jammu and Kashmir: No change of boundary in 1956.
  6. Kerala: formed by the merger of Travancore-Cochinstate with the Malabar district and Kasaragod taluk of South Canara district of the Madras Presidency. The southern part of Travancore-Cochin, Kanyakumari district, along with Sengottai Taluk, was transferred to Madras State. The Laccadive and Minicoy Islands were separated from Malabar District to form a new Union Territory namely LaccadiveAmindivi, and Minicoy
  7. Madhya PradeshMadhya BharatVindhya Pradesh, and Bhopal Statewere merged into Madhya Pradesh; the Marathi-speaking districts of Nagpur Division were transferred to Bombay State.
  8. Madras StateMalabar Districtwas transferred to the new state of KeralaSouth Canaradistrict was bifurcated and transferred to Mysore State and to Kerala and a new Union Territory, Laccadive, Minicoy and Amindivi Islands, was created. The southern part of Travancore-Cochin - Kanyakumari district, along with Sengottai Taluk was added to Madras State.
  9. Mysore State: enlarged by the addition of Coorg State and the Kannada speaking districts from western Madras Presidency, southern Bombay Presidency and western Hyderabad State.
  10. Orissa: No change of boundary in 1956.
  11. Punjab: enlarged by addition of the Patiala and East Punjab States Union.
  12. Rajasthan: enlarged by the addition of Ajmerstate and parts of Bombay and Madhya Bharat states.
  13. Uttar Pradesh: No change of boundary in 1956.
  14. West Bengal: enlarged by addition of Puruliadistrict, previously part of Bihar.

Union territories

The Part C and Part D territories that weren't merged into other states, were converted into Union Territories:

  1. Andaman and Nicobar Islands
  2. Delhi
  3. Manipur
  4. Tripura
  5. Himachal Pradesh
  6. Laccadive, Minicoy & Amindivi Islands





North-Eastern Areas (Reorganisation) Act, 1971

  • Manipur and Tripura -Establishment of the states of Manipur and Tripura. They were Union Territories before.
  • Meghalaya - Establishment of the state of Meghalaya. It was an autonomous part of Assam before.
  • Mizoram and Arunachal Pradesh - Establishment of the Union Territories of Mizoram and Arunachal Pradesh.


  1. Mizoram - Following the Mizoram Peace Accord in 1986, Mizoram was given full-statehood in 1987.
  2. Arunachal Pradeshwas given full statehood in by the State of Arunachal Pradesh Act, 1986.



Non-Linguistic states

  1. Uttarakhand
  2. Telangana

Top of page