Details of Prestigious Tournaments

All England Open

  • Location: England
  • Established: 1899
  • Held: Annually
  • Teams: Individual players

The All England Open Badminton Championships is one of the world’s oldest and most prestigious badminton tournaments. Established in 1899, it’s considered the unofficial world championships before the official BWF World Championships’ inception.

BWF Thomas Cup –

  • Location: Varies globally
  • Established: 1948
  • Held: Every two years (even years)
  • Teams: 16 national men’s teams


Also called Men’s Teams World Championship, BWF Thomas Cup is the  biggest, oldest and most prestigious badminton tournament in the world. It’s an international competition between male teams from BWF country members. The first  event was in 1948, followed by a tournament every three years, until 1982, when it started happening every two years.

Outside Asia, England was the only country to host the tournament. Indonesia has won more than 48% of the 29 tournaments ever held, China, 21%, and Malaysia, 17.2%. Japan and Denmark each won one tournament.

BWF Uber Cup

  • Location: Varies globally
  • Established: 1956
  • Held: Every two years (even years)
  • Teams: 16 national men’s teams


BWF Uber Cup is the Women’s World Cup, Thomas Cup women’s correspondent. It is held simultaneously with it. The Thomas Cup is in its 29th edition and Uber Cup, in its 26th.

BWF Sudirman Cup

  • Location: Varies globally
  • Established: 1989
  • Held: Every two years (odd years)
  • Teams: 16 national mixed teams


Surdirman Cup is the mixed teams world championship. It takes place every two years, each time in a different BWF country member. The first tournament was held in Indonesia, in 1989.

There is no cash prize. Athletes play for the prestige of their respective countries and to earn points in the BWF world ranking.

BWF World Championship

Held - every two years

BWF World Championship also does not offer cash prizes, but it is the one that provides more ranking points. They receive the title of world champions and gold medals.

It started in 1977 and happened every three years until 1983, promoted by the IBF (International Badminton Federation).

After BWF started promoting the event, in 1985, with the same goals, BWF defined its periodicity for every two years, and, from 2006, every year. It is held in different WBF countries members.

Olympic Games

  • Location: Varies globally
  • Established: 1992
  • Held: Every 4 years
  • Teams: Individual, doubles, mixed doubles team players representing their countries

The 1992 Summer Olympics introduced Badminton as an official sport which was held in Barcelona, Spain. Since then, badminton is part of seven editions of the Olympics till now. Overall, 69 different countries have appeared at the Olympic badminton competitions with 19 of them appearing all seven times.


Top of page